Pressure-Cooked Pulled Pork

I love kitchen tools. I have too many of them but I can’t resist them. This is why I sometimes refer to my garage as my personal Sur La Table.

Nowadays, I look for kitchen tools that can do multiple tasks. One tool that I didn’t have yet in my garage was a pressure cooker. I’ve had my eye on a particular one because it boasts of having 7 functions in one pot. It’s a pressure cooker, slow cooker, rice cooker, saute/browning, yogurt maker, steamer, and warmer.

When I saw it for $40 off on Amazon on Prime Day, I bought it. Last night, I used it for the first time to make pulled pork and it performed beautifully! I suspect I’ll be using this kitchen tool quite often because it does everything in the same pot!

Photo Jul 27, 6 09 45 PM

Here’s the recipe I used for the pulled pork.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 lbs of pork butt (or shoulder), cut into big chunks
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Paprika

Photo Jul 27, 5 57 01 PM

Direction:

  • Season the pork chunks with the onion powder, garlic powder and paprika.
  • Heat oil in pot and brown pork chunks on all sides. Remove from pot and set aside.
    Photo Jul 27, 5 53 43 PM
    Photo Jul 27, 5 55 14 PM
  • Add onions and garlic into pot and saute until onions are soft.
  • Add water and BBQ sauce to the pot and de-glaze the pot.
  • Put the pork chunks back into the pot. The liquid won’t completely cover the pork chunks. That’s ok.
    Photo Jul 27, 6 09 19 PM
  • Pressure cook at high psi (about 15) for about 60 minutes. This is what they look like when done.
    Photo Jul 27, 7 24 34 PM
  • Remove the pork chunks carefully and shred with a pair of forks.
    Photo Jul 27, 7 25 58 PM
    Photo Jul 27, 7 28 39 PM

I made quesadillas with my pulled pork last night. They were soooo good!
Photo Jul 27, 7 52 07 PM

You can adapt this recipe to make Mexican Pulled Pork too.

Here’s the ingredients for the simmer liquid instead of using water and BBQ sauce mix:

  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dry oregano
  • 2 tablespoons juice from 1 lime
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 medium orange, halved (without the rind)

You would also need to add ground cumin to the pork rub.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

